Book Recommendation: “The Book Thief”

As I’ve mentioned before: I love to read and I love inviting my friends into a story that has impacted me in some way. So, here goes another book recommendation! 

  
The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak
This isn’t a new book and many of you may have already read it. But if you haven’t, please do! It is one of my favorite books and one I always recommend to fellow readers. 


The Book Thief takes place in Germany during World War II. Once again, I’ll rely on the Amazon description…

“It is 1939. Nazi Germany. The country is holding its breath. Death has never been busier, and will become busier still. 

Liesel Meminger is a foster girl living outside of Munich, who scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist–books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement.”

The book is narrated by Death…but don’t let that scare you away. It is not dark or scary, but beautiful. Liesel’s story is incredible, heartbreaking, and sweet.
I have always been interested in this particular time period, and, even though this is a work of fiction, I was intrigued at the small glimpse it gave me into what life was probably very much like in Germany during the dark days of this terrible war. 

This was another one of those life-changing, heartwrenching stories that made me so grateful I spent the time to read it. I’ll confess that it does take a few pages to really get going, but hang in there! It WILL be worth it! You’ll laugh and cry and your perspective about life will change. And in my opinion, that’s what makes a good story! 

Have any of you read The Book Thief? What did you think of it? Do you have any book recommendations for me? 

Leave a Reply

