Need Another Book to Read? 

I’m sure you’ve already sped through the first 2 books I recommended and you’re anxiously awaiting my next book recommendation! Well, wait no longer…I got your back! 
 

Scouting the Divine by Margaret Feinberg

In 2008, Justin and I attended the Catalyst Conference in Atlanta. Catalyst is a conference for church leaders and it was such an incredible experience for us. I was able to hear Margaret Feinberg speak during one of the breakout sessions of the conference and I really enjoyed her. At the end of the weekend, she gave a free copy of her new book, Scouting the Divine, to everyone at the conference. I’m glad she did because I don’t know if I would’ve bought the book on my own since I didn’t do much reading in those days. I brought it home and put it on my nightstand and didn’t think about it again for a year and a half. Then, one day, I decided to give it a chance and I’m so glad I did! I couldn’t put it down. She talked about the Word in a way I hadn’t heard before. Simply put: her writing is beautiful and made me look at Scripture in a new and fresh way. My description of the book won’t do it justice, so here’s the description from the back of the book:

“The Bible is full of clever plots and compelling stories, laced with historic insights and literary beauty. Despite its richness and depth, many of us struggle to close the gap between the ancient world and our own. What does it mean to know that Jesus is the Good Shepherd when the only place you’ve encountered sheep is at a petting zoo? How can you understand the promise of a land overflowing with honey when you buy yours in a bear-shaped bottle? Can you grasp the urgency of Jesus’ invitation to abide in the vine when you shop for grapes at a local grocery store? Popular author and speaker Margaret Feinberg invites you to accompany her on the spiritual adventure of a lifetime. Explore how ancient livelihoods illuminate meaningful Christian truths that apply to life today. Spend time with a shepherdess, farmer, beekeeper, and vintner who each bring fresh insights to familiar Scriptures. Scout the divine and move from just reading the Bible to entering stories that can be touched, tasted, heard, seen, smelled, and savored.”
Cool concept, right? 
I highly recommend this book! If you have a chance to read it, do it! If you’ve already read it, what did you think? 

Leave a Reply

