My First Post! Or, Who is this “Cori” person, and why is she writing a blog?

My name is Cori Johnston. I love Jesus, my family, my friends, coffee, quality time (usually involving coffee), food, cooking, anything related to Harry Potter or Gilmore Girls, reading, movies, any winter-related/cozy activity, and Christmas (a lot….like I would be totally fine if Christmas came twice each year…). I love to read. I cry extremely easily. I love weddings.  I make my own coffee creamer. I can watch a movie I love over and over again. I love to cook and it brings me great joy to share meals with people I love. 

I’ve been married to my husband, Justin, for 10+ years. We have a kind-hearted, gentle, and hilarious 5 year old son named Judson, and spunky, sassy, scrappy, silly 2.5 year old twin girls named Iris and Charlotte.
I work (very) part-time at a local produce store one day each week, and I coordinate weddings every now and then. But most of the time, I get to stay home with my babies! I’m currently about to embark on the adventure of HOMESCHOOLING MY CHILD (gulp😳). 

Like most stay-at-home moms, I want to be there for my babies. To love them, raise them, foster their dreams and help them become world changers. But I’m constantly torn between that and the desire to pursue my own dreams, to explore my own creativity. Hopefully, this blog will be just that. An opportunity for me to be creative, to share my journey. And whether it’s just for me or for a couple other people or a lot of other people…it’s ok. My prayer is that I will allow the Lord to lead me no matter what.

I love love love to celebrate Christmas. I love it. Like, really. It is my FAVORITE time of the year. Maybe that’s cliche, but I don’t care. My family starts “officially” listening to Christmas music on October 1st (though it is allowed at any time throughout the year:)). Decorations go up around November 1st. And I am always sad when we have to take them down! Christmas is an exciting time! A time when your family is in town, and you have even more reasons to host/go to parties (which is perfect for this extrovert), and everyone seems to be a little more cheery. I love cooler weather and sweaters and boots. I love the sprit of giving at Christmas. Many of my best memories are from Christmases when I was growing up. And the FOOD. Come on, people. The food! 

Anyway, I digress:). I actually do enjoy other times of the year, too! I truly enjoy making each day special. I want people to feel cheery and warm and welcome around me 12 months out of the year. I desire to show people the selflessness and love we usually only show at Christmastime throughout the year. I want my children to know that we can be a light to this world, we can celebrate Christ’s birth everyday, and we can make each day feel like a gift. Am I perfect at it? No. But I so desire to allow my children to see those imperfections, and to learn how to seek the Lord as we forgive, move forward, and CHOOSE to love each other and celebrate every moment for what it is, flaws and all. So “Treat Everyday Like Christmas” as a blog title felt like the right choice for me for a couple of reasons. I mean, of course I love Christmas, AND “Elf” is obviously one of the best movies ever and the “Code of the Elves” is a pretty good mantra to live by…but I felt this blog would be a good way to celebrate the everyday mundane, the difficult, messy stuff, along with the fun and exciting moments, and to invite anyone who wants to read along with me as I strive to do just that!

Thanks for reading!

Christmas Morning 2013. One of my favorite pics of the kids in their Christmas jammies, enjoying their gifts!

3 thoughts on “My First Post! Or, Who is this “Cori” person, and why is she writing a blog?

  1. I love your first blog. I always enjoy hearing what’s happening with the kids, especially Jud’s amazing wit. I look forward to the next blog. Love ya much!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

